

Reminder Regarding Excused Absences for Voting in Upcoming Federal Election

On March 24, 2022, the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) issued guidance and direction to federal agencies to implement Executive Order No. 14019 "Promoting Access to Voting," with the intent of expanding the federal government's policy of granting employees time off to participate in the democratic process. On June 22, 2022, NATCA and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) regarding the implementation of Executive Order No. 14019.

Under the MOU, bargaining unit employees (BUEs) may request up to four (4) hours of excused absence to vote on election day or on an early voting day. BUEs may request excused absence for:

- Federal general elections
- Primaries and caucuses
- State, local, municipal, tribal, and territorial level elections
- Special congressional elections that are not held on the date of a federal general election
- Serving as a non-partisan poll worker (including training)
- Participating in non-partisan observer activities at the federal, state, local (i.e., county, and municipal), tribal, and territorial level (including training)

MOU: EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 14019 "PROMOTING ACCESS TO VOTING"

BUES MAY REQUEST UP TO FOUR HOURS OF EXCUSED ABSENCE TO VOTE ON ELECTION DAY OR ON AN EARLY VOTING DAY



BUEs may use excused absence for travel time to and from their polling location but may not use excused absence during a non-workday or during overtime work hours. The FAA will grant requests for excused absence subject to staffing and workload and will make necessary operational adjustments to accommodate a BUE's request. BUEs may use excused absence for the purposes outlined in the MOU multiple times per year but are limited to four (4) hours per election event.

Members with questions should contact their regional leadership.

Staff Feature: Special Counsel to the President Eugene Freedman

At NATCA, our National Office team is a powerhouse of dedication and excellence, working tirelessly every day to provide unparalleled service and representation. Their passion and commitment form the backbone of our Union, making us immensely proud. Today, we're excited to turn the

spotlight on one of our exceptional national office staff team members: Special Counsel to the President Eugene Freedman.

Read on to discover more about Eugene to get to know him better.



Welcome to Our Newest Members

Welcome to NATCA's newest members! Let's give a warm welcome to these sisters and brothers joining our NATCA family! We encourage NATCA members to reach out in their facilities to these new members, share your experiences, and help integrate them into our Union activities. Your guidance is invaluable in fostering our new members' growth and involvement. Together, we can ensure our members are well-informed and ready to advance our commitment to safety and advocacy in the skies. In the spirit of solidarity, here's to strengthening our Union with fresh perspectives and energy.



Central Region Clayton Bruening (Manhattan (KS) FCT - MHK)

David Guasp (Central Florida TRACON, F11) Caleb Guillery (Tallahassee ATCT, William Dohle (Manhattan (KS) FCT - MHK)
Joshua Factor (Omaha TRACON, R90)
Anthony Giordano (Manhattan (KS) FCT - MHK)

Eastern Region

Ariel Espinal (Elmira TRACAB, ELM)
Brandon King (Charleston ATCT,
CRW)
Matthew Laxton (Manassas ATCT,
HEF)

Thomas Nunez (Capital Cities/Harrisburg ATCT, CXY) Chelsea Turner (Manassas ATCT, HEF)

Great Lakes Region

William Bright (Muskegon ATCT, MKG)

Tucker Canfield (Springfield ATCT, SPI)

David Dennis III (Columbus ATCT, CMH)

Cody Lando (Ann Arbor ATCT, ARB) Brooke Kimmes (Minneapolis Center, ZMP)

Christopher McManis Jr. (Minneapolis Center, ZMP)

Alyssa Olah (Toledo ATCT, TOL) Trevor Spears (Toledo ATCT, TOL) Ian Washington (Traverse City ATCT, TVC)

New England Region

Joseph Reilly (Boston ATCT, BOS)

Northwest Mountain Region

Maureen Baggett (Denver Center, ZDV)

Virginia Donn (Bozeman FCT, BZN) Justin Grago (Portland TRACON, P80)

Clayton Jannise (Denver Center, ZDV)

Daniel Jefferson (Denver Center, ZDV)

Susan Zadorski (Billings ATCT, BIL) Carlos Sanchez (Denver Center, ZDV)

Noah Stennett (Seattle Center, ZSE)

Region X

TLH)
William Henderson (New Bern ATCT,

EWN)
Emily Heidolph (Huntsville ATCT,

HSV)
Nicklas Herrmann (Jacksonville

Nicklas Herrmann (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)

Carlos Jimenez (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)

Kaleb Kenny (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)

John Lin (DeKalb-Peachtree ATCT, PDK)

Malik Maillard (Columbia ATCT, CAE) Cameron Mclain (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)

Joseph McCray (Greenville Downtown ATCT, GMU) Ricardo Mendez (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)

Ashton Pitcock (Greensboro ATCT, GSO)

Marquis Price (Atlanta Center, ZTL) Christina Ramirez (Tallahassee ATCT, TLH)

Bart Sturgeon (Columbia ATCT, CAE) David Towery (Atlanta Center, ZTL)

Southwest Region

Michael Anderson (Waco ATCT, ACT)

Jonathan Aramendi (Fort Smith ATCT, FSM)

Mykael Barnes (Amarillo ATCT, AMA) Andrew Bick (Midland ATCT, MAF) Antonio Bermudez (Waco ATCT, ACT)

Brandon Butler (Alliance ATCT, AFW) Alexis Ferland (Fort Worth Center, ZFW)

Dayna Mazzullo (Houston Center, ZHU)

Matthew McCoy (Houston Center, ZHU)

Scott Minter (Alliance ATCT, AFW)
Paul Nguyen (Austin ATCT, AUS)
Alexander Ortiz (Waco ATCT, ACT)
Daniel Wall (Amarillo ATCT, AMA)
Emily Alopra (Fort Worth Center,
ZFW)

Western Pacific Region

Bryan Amezcua Sanchez (Oakland Center, ZOA)

Xavier Calderon (Engineer/Eastern Region, EEA)
Xiugi Guo (Engineer/Northwest Mountain Region, ENM)
William Herbord (Engineer/Northwest Mountain Region, ENM)
Terence Levings (Engineer/Eastern Region, EEA)
Ever Morejon (Engineer/Eastern Region, EEA)
Andrew Younglove
(Engineer/Northwest Mountain Region, ENM)

Southern Region

ATCT, ILM)

Jachob Cudziol (Wilmington ATCT, ILM)
Joshua Crowley (DeKalb-Peachtree ATCT, PDK)
Jacob Elwood (Jacksonville Center, ZJX)
Nicholas Entsminger (Wilmington

Yvonne Cabrera (Oakland Center, ZOA)
Justin Chien (Oakland Center, ZOA)
Pierre Giraud-Carrier (Los Angeles Center, ZLA)
Ashtan Howell (North Las Vegas ATCT, VGT)
Tristen Krieg (Napa ATCT, APC)
Allan Madera (Los Angeles Center,

Jonathan Salaver (Los Angeles Center, ZLA) Steven Yau (Oakland Center, ZOA) Lizabeth Wan (Los Angeles Center,

Visit our Website



ZLA)

ZLA)





NATCA | 1325 Massachusetts Ave NW | Washington, DC 20005 US

<u>Unsubscribe</u> | <u>Update Profile</u> | <u>Constant Contact Data Notice</u>