Archie League Medal of Safety Awards

Archie League

Call for Archie League Medal of Safety Award Nominations

NATCA Members: We're looking for the best saves that have occurred at your facilities from May 1, 2019 through April 30, 2020. A member may nominate another member for an Archie League Medal of Safety Award. Deadline to nominate: May 15, 2020. To nominate, please click here.

If you have questions or are having trouble collecting all nomination materials, please contact Grace Colby.

About the Archie League Medal of Safety Award

The ability to think quickly and remain calm under pressure while maintaining situational awareness are just some of the unique qualities that air traffic controllers possess. Their willingness to resolve complex situations without hesitation, offer a reassuring voice to those on the frequency, and ability to coordinate their efforts with other controllers help these dedicated professionals be successful at maintaining the safety of the National Airspace System.

While many controllers often feel that they are “just doing their job,” their hard work is often viewed by others as remarkable and extraordinary. The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards were created in 2004 and named for the first air traffic controller, Archie League. The program highlights a variety of aviation “saves” — some which involve a team of controllers working together, while others are the result of one controller’s efforts.

The 15th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards - 2019

Nominations of events that occurred between May 1, 2018 and April 30, 2019 will be considered by the award selection committee in June 2019. Winners are expected to be announced on or before July 1, 2019. They will be honored at our annual Archie League Medal of Safety Award Banquet on Sept. 18, 2019 at Bally's Las Vegas.

For a complete list of Archie League Medal of Safety Award winners from each of the first 14 years of the program, please click here. 


The 2008 Honorees
The 2007 Honorees
The 2006 Honorees
The 2005 Honorees