1997  |  1998  |  1999  |  2000  |  2001  |  2002  |  2003  |  2004  |  2005  |  2006  |  2007  |  2008  |  2009  |  2010  |  2011  |  2012  |  2013  |  2014  |  2015

NATCA to Gather Aviation Community for Comprehensive Discussion on the State of the Skies - (9/23/2002)

WHAT: National Air Traffic Controllers Association State of the Skies Summit - A gathering of members of the aviation community to discuss the challenges they continue to face, from economic woes to security concerns to air traffic issues.

WHEN: Thursday, Sept. 26, 2002.

WHERE: Capital Hilton, 1001 16th St. NW, Washington, D.C.

EVENT HOURS: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

MEDIA RSVP: Encouraged. Please call 202.220.9802.


9 a.m. Welcome Remarks John S. Carr, President, NATCA

9:15 a.m. Opening keynote address Darryl Jenkins, Director, The Aviation
Institute, George Washington University
A comprehensive assessment of the current state of the aviation industry.

10 a.m. Session I - State of the Skies A stakeholders discussion on the current issues facing the aviation community.
Moderator: John Carr, NATCA
Panelists: Col. Cheryl Atkins, Policy Board on Federal Aviation, Department of
Charlotte Bryan, Transportation Security Administration
Charlie Keegan, Associate Administrator for Research and Acquisitions, FAA
David Plavin, President, Airports Council International-North America
** Representatives from Air Line Pilots Association and Air Transport Association, TBA

Noon Luncheon keynote address John Nance, Pilot, Air Safety Analyst and
Aviation Analyst for ABC News

1 p.m. Session II: Current Reality vs. Future Growth: A discussion of the new aviation climate and its immediate and long-term impact on the FAA, and, specifically, air traffic control.
Moderator: John Carr, NATCA
Panelists: Steven J. Brown, Associate Administrator for Air Traffic Services, FAA
John Hayhurst, CEO, Boeing Air Traffic Management
Ruth Marlin, Executive Vice President, NATCA
John Pyburn, Director, Program Analysis and Evaluation, Mitre / CAASD
Sam Whitehorn, Majority Counsel, Senate Aviation Subcommittee

2:30 Session III: Perspectives and Priorities from the Aviation Community: A moderated session that allows various sectors of the aviation community to advocate the priorities of their constituencies.
Moderator: John Carr, NATCA
Panelists: Andy Cebula, Vice President, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Sue Corcoran, Vice President, Lockheed Martin Air Traffic Management
Spencer Dickerson, Executive Vice President, American Association of
Airport Executives
David Stempler, President, Air Travelers Association
Barry L. Valentine, Senior Vice President, General Aviation
Manufacturers Association
Pete West, Senior Vice President, National Business Aviation
Association, Inc.

Organizations Invited to Attend

Aerospace Industries Association (AIA)
Association of Flight Attendants
Air Carrier Association of America
Air Courier Conference of America
Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)
Air Transport Association (ATA)
Air Travelers Association
Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association (AOPA)
Airports Council International-North America (ACI-NA)
America West Airlines
American Airlines
American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE)
American Association of Port Authorities
American Society of Travel Agents
American University
Assistant Secretary, Department of Transportation
Aviation Consumer Action Project
Aviation Institute, George Washington University
Aviation Safety Institute, University of Southern California
Black, Kelly & Scruggs
Boeing Air Traffic Management
Business Travel Coalition
Cargo Airlines Association (CAA)
Cato Institute
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Continental Airlines
Cornell University
Delta Air Lines
Department of Transportation, Office of Public Affairs
Economic Strategy Institute
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Evergreen International Airlines
Federal Aviation Administration
General Aviation Manufacturers Association
George Mason University
Gerchick & Murphy Associates
Global Aviation Associates
Hawaiian Airlines
Hopkins and Sutter
House Aviation Subcommittee
Lockheed Martin Air Traffic Management
Majority Staff Director
Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
Midwest Express Airlines
Minority Staff Director
NASA's Langley Research Center
National Air Carrier Association
National Air Traffic Controllers Association
National Air Transportation Association (NATA)
National Association of Counties (NACo)
National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO)
National Business Aviation Association (NBAA)
Northwest Airlines
Northwestern University's Transportation Center
Office of Congressman Don Young
Office of Congressman Hal Rogers
Office of Congressman Jimmy Duncan
Office of Congressman John Mica
Patton-Boggs, LLP
Polar Air Cargo
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Regional Airlines Association (RAA)
Southwest Airlines
The Aviation Group
The Boyd Group/ASRC, Inc.
The Brookings Institute
The Ferguson Group
Transportation & Infrastructure Committee
Transportation Subcommittee, Committee on Appropriations
Transportation Trades Department
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
U.S. Citizens Aviation Watch Association
U.S. Dept. Of Defense
United Airlines
United Parcel Service
US Airways
Van Scoyoc Associaties, Inc.
Zuckert, Scoutt & Rasenberger

Show All News Headlines